top of page
Search

Social Butterfly Training


So, being out in public, among people, isn't everyone's cup of tea. For many, social situations spark anxiety and fear. If you feel these feelings, for not. I am going to let you know how I deal with social anxiety. I am a very outgoing person and I love being around people, but every one feels out of place at one point or another. When I feel anxiety coming, I...

  1. Take a couple deep breaths. Closing my eyes and breathing in deep 5 times makes me really calm and ready to face the crowd.

  2. Bring a supportive friend. If you have to face a new crowd and it makes you feel nervous, bring a friend along. You'll have someone to talk to.

  3. Face your fears! When you walk into the room, own it! Walk up to people you've never met before and introduce yourself. Don't hide. Be the belle of the ball!

  4. Practice conversation starters before you go to the event. "Did you catch that episode of Game of Thrones last night?" "What kind of lipstick are you wearing? It looks so good!" "How about those Cowboys!" Having conversation starters ready never hurts when you're trying to connect with new people!

  5. Plan my exit. This may sound weird but some days I just don't feel social. Instead of criticizing myself for giving in, I am kind to myself and I remember that all areas of my health triangle are works in progress. After a couple conversations starters, I leave. And this is good for my mental health.

In a lot of situations, being social is a must. I hope one of my coping method assists you as you become a social butterfly!

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page