top of page
Search

Contribution to Your Learning & Your Learning Community (5389 & 5318)

Instructional Design for Online Learning (5318) and Developing Effective Professional Learning (5389) have greatly impacted the

way I approach the work that I do on my job and the changes that I hope to bring to my organization in the near future. These courses were very beneficial and I appreciate taking them at the same time because there were similar things that I had to do to be successful in both classes. .


Instructional Design for Online Learning(5318) has taught me so much about how to design a course and the important pieces that must come together to make the online course successful. During this course, I had the opportunity to plan a student-center blended learning health and wellness course that teaches seventh grade students about their health triangle, which consists of physical, mental/emotional, and social health. After building out the start here section and the first two modules, I shared my online course with my colleagues and got valuable feedback that I used to revise my online course.


During Developing Effective Professional Learning (5389), we took a look at professional learning and why it may not be very effective. First, I created an assignment expressing my “why”. I had to ask myself why current professional learning may not reach every teacher. Once I took a deeper look, there were a lot of reasons, but overall I found that most professional learning is one size fits all when one size of professional learning clearly doesn’t fit every educator. During this course, I learned the five key principles of effective professional learning, which are duration, support, modeling, making the learning specific, and engagement. After learning these things, I was able to make a plan for effective professional learning for implementing action based learning into elementary classes.


For both classes, I worked with my regular group of ADL students via the “Group Me”app. In group me, I had the opportunity to discuss both classes and get feedback from Tristan Dixson, Benjamin Branco, Fred Williams, and Jacob Montag. I also took part in the discussion posts and had the opportunity to interact with Selina Summers, Christine Morales, Ruben De Hoyos, Tristan Dixson, Sara Garza, Lindsay Perry, Daniel Bryson, Jacob Montag, and Lorena Rodriguez in 5318. In 5389, I had the opportunity to interact with Lorena Rodriguez, Leticia Cortez, Frederick Williams, Lina Tenjo Tipton, Rachael Lancon, Lera Longbottom, Marcus Owens, Sara Garza, Jesse Danin, Bethany Eisele, Jermecia Herrington, Allyson Dellafield, Jasmin Galbert, and Bassry Smith in the discussion posts. I appreciate each of them for their feedback. My collaborations impacted the connecting idea for both courses because everyone I interacted with was in both courses and we were able to help each other through feedback and giving each other support.


In Instructional Design for Online Learning (5318), I would give myself a 95. In Developing Effective Professional Learning (5389), I would also give myself a 95. I participated in each of these classes and I am better for it.


Innovation Proposal linked here


Instructional Design for Online Learning

Instructional Design Module 1 Assignment linked here

Implementation Assignment linked here

Usability Test & Reflection linked here


Developing Effective Professional Learning

Call to Action linked here

Alternative PL linked here

Professional Learning Strategy linked here




6 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page